Photos, Video: Vans US Open Of Surfing Day 8 Highlights

Photos, Video: Vans US Open Of Surfing Day 8 Highlights

Day 8 of the 2015 Vans US Open of Surfing set the stage for the World Surf League WSL Qualifying Series (QS) 10,000 Men's Quarterfinalists, and Pro Junior Men's and Women's winners were announced. Congratulations to Griffin Colapinto (USA) and Caroline Marks (USA). In skate news, Ben Hatchell was crowned the winner of the 2015 Van Doren Invitational.

The Sunday finale will, and there's no better way to put this, get radical. Here are Saturday's highlights, followed by the Day 9 schedule and match-ups.


  • Griffin Colapinto (USA) stormed ahead of the field in the Men's Pro Junior Final with a 16.03 heat total with less than ten minutes gone, putting opponents Cam Richards (USA), Hiroto Arai (JPN) and Kanoa Igarashi (USA) in a combination situation. Huntington Beach standout Igarashi, who is also competing in the Men's QS 10,000, pulled together a series of critical turns for a near-perfect 9.57 to break the combination and steal the lead. The San Clemente local, Colapinto, came back strong and answered with a near-perfect 9.67 for a succession of power turns to claim the win and the title of Vans US Open of Surfing Men's Pro Junior champion.
  • Caroline Marks (USA) dominated the Women's Final, starting with a 7.50 for a series of good turns and a convincing lead at the halfway mark. The 13-year-old from Florida was in rhythm with the ocean and steadily increased her scoreline throughout the heat. Two powerful turns in the pocket netted Marks a near perfect 9.43 to leave the field combed and solidify her advantage over fellow finalists Meah Collins (USA), Holly Wawn (AUS) and Frankie Harrer (USA). A last-minute 8.37 earned a final heat total of 17.80, the highest of the women’s competition, and a WSL Pro Junior win for Marks.
  • The Men's Quarterfinalists for the WSL QS 10,000 event have been set for the final day of the Vans US Open of Surfing tomorrow and the field has been reduced to eight surfers after competition ran through Round 4 today.
  • Nate Yeomans (USA) put the pressure on Michael Rodrigues (BRA) early in Round 4 Heat 1. He delivered clean, crisp power turns on his first wave and followed it up with a big frontside air reverse. Yeomans looked focused and showed variety to take out Rodrigues, securing his place in the Quarterfinals against Kanoa Igarashi (USA) as well as crucial points on the QS.
  • Defending event winner Filipe Toledo (BRA) oozed confidence in his Round 4 match-up against Beyrick De Vries (ZAF). Dominating the heat from early on, Toledo had De Vries in a combination situation with a 14.50 heat total. The South African came back with two turns and an air reverse of his own with 11 minutes remaining to break the combination but couldn’t find the score he needed for a win. Toledo sails through to the Quarterfinals where he will match up against Alex Ribeiro (BRA) while De Vries takes home ninth-place finish and 3,700 points.
  • Tanner Hendrickson (HAW) held a big lead over Billy Stairmand (NZL) thanks to an 8.43 for a series of quick snaps. Hendrickson backed it up with a 6.37 while Stairmand built his scoreline to a 13.33 heat total to put himself back in the heat. An attempt in the final minute wasn’t enough and Stairmand is eliminated with his best result of the season, while Hendrickson moves through to the Quarterfinals to battle Kolohe Andino (USA).
  • Kolohe Andino (USA) looked patient and composed in Heat 8 against Tomas Hermes (BRA), waiting for ten minutes before taking his first wave. The Californian went for broke and opened his account with the highest score of the Round, an excellent 8.87 for a series of risky maneuvers ending with an air reverse. An impressive 16.37 two-wave heat total, the best of the day, sees the CT surfer secure a Quarterfinal berth and send Hermes home.
  • The day concluded with the Final of the Vans Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational presented by Pacifico, which was won by Justin Quintal (USA) from Florida.


  • Following an explosive semi-finals round and a mind-blowing combination run in the finals, Ben Hatchell is crowned champion for his second Van Doren Invitational title since winning the inaugural Van Doren Invitational in 2013. Joining him on the podium, Vans' own Pedro Barros claimed second followed closely by the unrelenting Chris Russell who placed third.
  • To relive all the action from today, go to the Contest Analyzer and watch every jam, every moment, on demand.
  • 1st Place: Ben Hatchell - $25,000
  • 2nd Place: Pedro Barros - $15,000
  • 3rd Place: Chris Russell - $10,000
  • Full results here.

Day 9 Preview

Competition continues Sunday starting at 8 a.m. with Surf Finals Days, starting with Men's Quarterfinals followed by Women's Semifinals, Men's Semifinals, Women's Final and Men's Final. Match-ups below (watch the live webcast here). Here's Surfline's official surf forecast.

BMX returns today with Finals hitting the Bowl at 11:15 a.m. (watch the live webcast here).

Men's QS 10,000 Quarterfinal Match-Ups:

  • QF 1: Nathan Yeomans (USA) vs. Kanoa Igarashi (USA)
  • QF 2: Ryan Callinan (AUS) vs. Hiroto Ohhara (JPN)
  • QF 3: Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
  • QF 4: Tanner Hendrickson (HAW) vs. Kolohe Andino (USA)

Women's Semifinal Match-Ups:

  • SF 1: Johanne Defay (FRA) vs. Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)
  • SF 2: Courtney Conlogue (USA) vs. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)


Johanne Defay, Hiroto Ohhara Win The 2015 US Open Of Surfing

Johanne Defay, Hiroto Ohhara Win The 2015 US Open Of Surfing

Photos, Video: Vans US Open Of Surfing Day 7 Highlights

Photos, Video: Vans US Open Of Surfing Day 7 Highlights